

OACRAO Business and Recognition Meeting Minutes Maumee Bay State Park Lodge Thursday, October 8, 2015 11:45am – 1:15pm

Presiding: Deb Benton, President

Deb began by introducing the Board of Directors, the AACRAO Representative, Paul Kyle, and the Past-Presidents in attendance.

Deb shared the names of new retirees, Don Foster and Linda Young.

Deb thanked LAC Co-chairs Cheryl Gloege and Sue Shepherd for their work. She then had Sue, the LAC Exhibitor Coordinator, introduce the 15 Exhibitors.

Deb officially called the meeting to order at 12:31pm, and appointed Brad Myers as Parliamentarian.

Deb reminded members that the names of committee members were included in the slide show that was being presented during the meeting. She encouraged members to complete the committee participation forms that were placed on each table.

Deb gave the President's report highlighting the accomplishments of the group for the year.

Next, Deb asked for approval of the minutes from the 2014 annual meeting

Mel Severns motioned for approval.

Frank Yanchak seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the minutes.

Deb introduced Jeannine Shambaugh, Chair of the Fiscal Committee. (Patrick Beatty, Treasurer was called away from the meeting for a family emergency and did not attend.)

Jeannine introduced the Treasurer's Report and budget. She also presented the balance sheet and 2015 annual report and asked for questions. Those two items did not require a vote.

Jeannine reported that the books had been audited and the books were found to be in good order.

Jeannine presented the 2016 budget and asked for any questions.

Deb asked for a motion to approve the 2016 budget.

Mel Severns made the motion.

Frank Yanchak seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the 2016 budget.

Next, Jeannine introduced the proposed bylaw changes, stating that they were reviewed at the Town Hall meeting that morning, and asked for any final questions.

Deb asked for a motion to approve the bylaw changes.

Cindy Davis made the motion to approve.

David Schneider seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the bylaw changes.

Jeannine introduced Chris Dorsten, Vice President/Program.

Chris thanked all for contributing to a successful conference. He introduced committee chairs and asked committee members to stand for recognition. Chris reminded everyone to complete committee participation forms, and announced that there would be a program planning will be in April next year. All members of the four program committees should attend.

Chris then introduced Beth DaLonzo, Vice President/Workshops.

Beth gave an overview of workshops during the past year and discussed the planning for 2016 workshops.

Beth introduced Molly McDermott, Vice-President/Membership Development.

Molly gave an overview of committee activities during past year. She asked all Membership and Mentoring Committee (M&M) members to stand and be recognized. There are 24 new members in attendance this year and Molly asked them and their mentors to stand and be acknowledged.

Molly introduced Angela Ford, Chair of the Scholarship Committee.

Angela gave an overview of committee activities during past year and announced that scholarship recipient information is available on the tables. She stated that this year's applications are being received. She asked the committee to stand to be recognized. Angela said silent auction checkout will happen today at 6:15 p.m. Angela then introduced Cindy Davis, Secretary and chair of the Communication Committee.

Cindy encouraged members to continue to tweet during the conference and shared information on how to connect with OACRAO through social media. She then thanked web master, Connie Goodman, and list-serve manager, David Schneider, and former newsletter editor, Barb Arilson. Cindy then introduced the three current newsletter editors: Michelle Deist, Whitney Ellwood, and Mollie Miller.

Cindy introduced Brad Myers who shared some remarks about his journey to the AACRAO presidency and encouraged members to get involved.

Deb returned to the podium and recognized the following people/positions: Government Relations Committee, Chair Jack Miner Historian, Dave Sauter

Next Deb presented plaques to outgoing Board members: Vice President/Membership Development – Molly McDermott Vice President/Program – Chris Dorsten Secretary – Cindy Davis Past President – Jeannine Shambaugh

Deb asked if there was any old business. There was none.

Deb then introduced Jeannine Shambaugh, Past-President and chair of the Nominations and Elections Committee

Jeannine had members of the Nominations and Elections Committee stand and be recognized and thanked them for their work.

Jeannine announced newly elected members of the Board of Directors:

President Elect – David Schneider

Vice President/Program - Mary Holland

Vice President/Membership Development – Liz Clerkin

Secretary – Donna Evans

Next Jeannine announced newly elected Nominations and Elections Committee members:

Past Presidents – Brad Myers and Dave Sauter

At-Large Members – Cheryl Gloege and Sue Lamphere

Jeannine announced Special Recognition & Honorary Awards

Linus J. Ryland Award: Cindy Davis Honorary Member: Don Foster Honorary Member: Linda Young Honorary Member: Marian Brainerd

Honorary Member: Connie Goodman

Deb then gave her remarks as outgoing President, and passed the gavel to Carol Jones.

Carol made some opening comments and reminded everyone of the 2016 Conference to be held at Deer Creek State Park.

Carol asked for a motion to adjourn.

Cheryl Gloege made a motion to adjourn.

David Schneider seconded the motion.

The members approved the motion to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 1:15 p.m.