## OACRAO Business Meeting Minutes Dayton Marriott Thursday, November 1, 2012 11:45am – 1:00pm

Presiding: Mel Severns, President

Mel began by introducing the Board of Directors, Luisa Havens, Vice President for Access and Equity for AACRAO, the Past-Presidents in attendance, and then introduced new retirees and visiting Retirees in attendance.

Mel thanked Dave Sauter and Tammy Bash, LAC Co-Chairs, for their efforts.

Next Mel introduced Marian Brainerd, LAC Exhibitor Coordinator, and asked her to come forward and introduce the exhibitors.

Mel officially called the meeting to order, and appointed Brad Myers as Parliamentarian.

Mel explained that Lisa Kasunic resigned her position as Secretary two weeks ago and asked for a motion to elect Cindy Davis as Board Secretary.

Jack Miner motioned for approval.

Dan Wilson seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the election of Cindy Davis as Secretary.

Mel reminded those in attendance that the names of committee members were scrolling on a display, and reminded members to complete committee participation forms that were placed on each table.

Next, Mel asked for Approval of the Minutes from last annual meeting

Dan Wilson motioned for approval.

Connie Goodman seconded the motion.

The members voted to approve the minutes.

Mel introduced Carol Jones, Treasurer and Jack Miner, Chair of Fiscal Committee.

Carol and Jack introduced the Treasurer's Report and Budget. Carol presented the balance sheet and 2012 annual report and asked for questions. Those two items did not require a vote

Jack reported that the books had been audited and the books were found to be in good order.

Jack presented the 2013 Budget and asked for any questions.

Mel asked for a motion to approve the 2013 Budget.

Carol Jones made the motion.

Connie Goodman seconded the motion.

The members approved the 2013 Budget.

Next Jack introduced the bylaws changes, stated that they were reviewed at the town hall meeting, and asked for any final questions.

Mel asked for a motion to approve the bylaws changes.

Jack made the motion to approve.

Connie Goodman seconded the motion.

The members approved the bylaws changes.

Jack introduced Janet Duber, Vice President of Programs.

Janet thanked all for contributing to a successful conference. She introduced Committee chairs and asked committee members to stand with them for recognition.

Janet reminded everyone to complete committee participation forms, and announced that there would be a Program Planning Meeting in February. All members of the four Program Committees should attend.

Janet then reported for Misty Mahefky, Vice President for Workshops who was not present.

Janet gave an overview of workshops during past year, and discussed the planning for 2013 workshops.

Janet introduced Sue Shepherd, Vice-President, Membership Development.

Sue gave an overview of committee activities during past year. She asked all M&M Members to stand and be recognized.

Sue introduced Beth Egan, Chair, Scholarship Committee.

Beth gave an overview of committee activities during past year and announced that scholarship recipient information was scrolling on the screen.

She announced that this year's applications were sent out to offices earlier in the week. Next she asked the committee to stand to be recognized.

Beth said silent auction check out will happen on Friday morning and that payments for auction items can now be done online using a credit card. The drawing for the auction baskets will be done at Friday's closing session.

Beth then introduced Cheryl Gloege, Chair, Communication Committee

Cheryl commented on the website update, and introduced the new newsletter editor, Barb Arilson; Web Master, Connie Goodman and List-serve Manager, David Schneider.

Mel returned to the podium and recognized the following people/positions:

Government Relations Committee, Chair Cindy Davis, Otterbein University

Historian, Dave Sauter, Miami University

Newsletter Editor, Barb Arilson, Lake Erie College

Next Mel presented plaques to outgoing Board members:

Vice President for Workshops - Misty Mahefky, Columbus State Community College

Treasurer - Carol Jones, Miami University

Past President - Jack Miner, The Ohio State University

Mel asked if there was any old business. There was none.

Mel then introduced Jack Miner, Past President and Chair the Nominations & Elections Committee

Jack asked members of Nominating Committee to stand and be recognized and thanked them for their service.

Jack announced newly appointed Board Members:

Secretary - Cindy Davis, Otterbein University

Vice President for Workshops - Cheryl Gloege, Otterbein University

Treasurer - David Schneider, The Ohio State University

President-Elect - Jeannine Shambaugh, Aultman College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Next Jack announced newly appointed Nominating Committee:

Past Presidents – Marian Brainerd, Wright State University and Dave Sauter, Miami University.

At-Large Members - Kathy DiFranco, John Carroll University and Mark Frys, Cuyahoga Community College

Jack announced Special Recognition & Honorary Awards

Honorary membership:

Beth Egan, John Carroll University

Michael Whitnable, Washington State Community College

Next Jack announced that the Ryland Award was given to Cheryl Gloege, Otterbein University.

Mel then gave his remarks as outgoing President, and passed the gavel to Dan Wilson.

Dan Wilson, President, made some opening comments and reminded everyone of the 2013 Great Lakes Conference to be held in Indianapolis.

Marian Brainerd then explained how the new "mini-sessions" part of the exhibitor presentations would be handled.

Dan asked for a motion to adjourn.

Mel made a motion to adjourn.

Connie seconded the motion.

The members approved the motion to adjourn.