

# OACRAO Business and Recognition Meeting Minutes Virtual and at Deer Creek State Park Thursday, October 21st, 2021 11:45AM-1:00PM

Presiding: Molly McDermott-Fallon, President

- Introduced the OACRAO Board of Directors
- Introduced and recognized OACRAO Past Presidents in attendance: Carol Jones, Deb Benton, Mel Severns, Frank Yanchak, Jeannine Shambaugh, David Schneider and Sue Shepherd
- Introduced and recognized retirees from the Profession: Dr. Regina Randall from Columbus State Community College and Marcy Rechner from Cleveland State University.

Molly McDermott-Fallon official called the 95<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Ohio Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers to order at 12:12PM.

#### President, Molly McDermott Fallon:

- Appointed Deb Benton as Parliamentarian.
- Molly called for a motion to suspend in person voting and change to online voting by using the raise your hand option in the virtual meeting. Chris Dorsten moved to approve. Seconded by Michelle Rable. All approved.
- President's report:
  - It has been a very different and challenging year for everyone due to the COVID
    19 pandemic.
  - The Board continued to meet virtually and create content and events for members.
  - We were able to offer workshops and an in person mini conference at Deer Creek State Park.
- Asked for consideration to approve the meeting minutes from the Business Lunch during the 2020 virtual meeting.
  - o Members were emailed a copy of the minutes prior to the meeting.
  - o Asked for a motion to approve: Lauren Martin motioned to approve.
  - o Asked for a second: Tina Hickman seconded.
  - o No discussion
  - o Asked for a vote to approve: All in favor.
  - o 2020 minutes are approved.
- Introduced Immediate Past-President Chris Dorsten and Treasurer Gina Shackle.
  - o Gina presented the balance sheet and annual report to the members. These items do not require a vote.
  - The fiscal committee did meet virtually. The only expenses were filing taxes, postage, and mileage for one board meeting in August.
  - o Presented the 2021-2022 proposed budget; asked for any questions
  - o Molly asked for a motion to approve: Michelle Rable motioned to approve.
  - o Asked for a second: Jayme Arnett seconded.
  - There was no discussion.
  - Asked for a vote to approve
    - Budget for the 2021-2022 passed.

#### Past President, Chris Dorsten:

• No changes to the by-laws.

- Chris discussed committee participation and promoted the benefits of joining a committee.
- We need more admission representation for our committees as well as information systems.
- Chris introduced Vice President of Programs, Tina Hickman.

## Vice President, Programs Tina Hickman:

- Thank you for everyone that joined Ideapalooza in March of 2020. We do plan on having one next March 2022.
- Please sign up for the programs committee!
- Introduced Vice President for Workshops, Lauren Martin

## Vice President, Workshops Lauren Martin:

- Had great attendance at the Residency and Staff workshop over the summer of 2021.
- Introduced VP of Membership Jayme Arnett.

## Vice President, Membership, Jayme Arnett:

- The M&M committee met several times prior to the pandemic.
- Looking for more admissions representation in the organization.
- Updated the new membership handbook.
- Gave a one-time forbearance of dues
- Updated institutional rosters.
- Worked on updating Memberclicks
- Introduced Secretary, Heather Pritchard

#### Secretary, Heather Pritchard:

- Thank you to Newsletter Editors Michelle Livingston and Christine Court.
- Called for newsletters editors as Michelle and Christine are now on the Board.
- Thank you to webmaster, Bob Bulow.
- Reintroduced President, Molly McDermott-Fallon.

#### President, Molly McDermott-Fallon:

- Thank you to all of the members on the Government Relations Committee, including Chair Christine Court.
- Presented plaques for outgoing board members:
  - o Vice President of Membership, Jayme Arnett.
  - o Vice President of Programs, Tina Hickman
  - o Past President, Chris Dorsten.
  - o Secretary, Heather Pritchard
- Asked for old business
- Reintroduced Past President, Chris Dorsten,

### Past-President, Chris Dorsten:

- Thank you to those who served on the Nomination and Elections committee.
- Presented the results of the election:
  - o Vice President of Programs: Christine Court
  - o Secretary: Michelle Livingston
  - o President Elect: Bob Bulow
  - o Vice President of Membership: Cindy Davis
- Announced new appointed Nominations and Elections Committee.
  - o Past Presidents: Carol Jones, David Schneider
  - o At large members: Whitney Costner, Barb Helms
- Presented the Linus J. Ryland award to Mel Severns
- Reintroduced President Molly McDermott Fallon.

## President, Molly McDermott Fallon:

- Thanks to the Board of Directors for their reports and work over the past year. Serving as President was an honor.
- Introduced President-Elect Michelle Rable and passed the gavel over as a formal introduction of President.

#### President-Elect, Michelle Rable:

- Michelle thanked everyone for their support and reiterated the fact that she and Chris have followed a very similar path in their OACRAO roles.
- Very much honored to be nominated.
- Thank you to everyone for their support, including staff at Bowling Green who has allowed Michelle to serve OACRAO, family, and mentors.
- We need to work towards more admissions representation. Paying more attention to diversity and inclusion which is a very broad topic in a sense.
- Formally called for a motion to adjourn the meeting:
  - o Heather Pritchard motioned to adjourn.
  - o Asked for a second: Gina Shackle seconded.
  - Asked for a vote to adjourn:
    - The 95<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Ohio Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers is adjourned at 12:54PM.