

# OACRAO Business and Recognition Meeting Minutes Virtual Thursday, October 8, 2020

# nursday, October 8, 2020 12:00PM-1:00PM

Presiding: Chris Dorsten, President

- Introduced the OACRAO Board of Directors
- Introduced and recognized OACRAO Past Presidents in attendance: Carol Jones, Deb Benton, Dan Wilson, Mel Severns, Jack Miner, Frank Yanchak, Jeannine Shambaugh, Beth DaLonzo, and David Schneider.
- Introduced and recognized retirees from the Profession: Melanie Hough from Ohio Northern University.

Chris Dorsten official called the 94<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Ohio Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers to order at 12:05PM.

#### President, Chris Dorsten:

- Appointed Jack Miner as Parliamentarian.
- Chris called for a motion to suspend in person voting and change to online voting by using the raise your hand option in the virtual meeting. Sue Shepherd moved to approve. Seconded by Molly McDermott-Fallon. All approved.
- President's report:
  - It has been a very different and challenging year for everyone due to the COVID
    pandemic.
  - o The Board met in November 2019 and planned for a year of fiscal changes.
  - We were able to receive a full refund from the state parks for the cancellation of our fall conference.
  - We held a webinar with members for the HB 595 and sent a letter to representatives for HB 595.
  - o Dues were not collected this year.
  - o We are working on round table discussions in the coming weeks.
  - o Thank you to my team at Cuyahoga Community College!
- Asked for consideration to approve the meeting minutes from the Business Lunch during the 2019 annual conference.
  - o Members were emailed a copy of the minutes prior to the meeting.
  - o Asked for a motion to approve: Dan Kall motioned to approve.
  - o Asked for a second: Tina Hickman seconded.
  - No discussion
  - o Asked for a vote to approve: All in favor.
  - o 2019 minutes are approved.
- Introduced Immediate Past-President Sue Shepherd and Treasurer Aftan Dewese.
  - Aftan presented the balance sheet and annual report to the members. These items do not require a vote.
  - Sue mentioned that the budget is in good order and there was minimal spending with the only major expenses being the board retreat and conference planning meeting. Deposits were refunded by both OSI and the conference.
  - o Presented the 2020-2021 proposed budget; asked for any questions
  - Chris asked for a motion to approve: Molly McDermott-Fallon motioned to approve.

- o Asked for a second: Jayme Arnett seconded.
- There was no discussion.
- o Asked for a vote to approve
  - Budget for the 2020-2021 passed.

## Past President, Sue Shepherd:

- No changes to the by-laws.
- Committee participation continues to be an active component for our organization.
- Areas that need stronger participation are Admissions and International Education, Information Systems and Data Management Committee, and Scholarship Committee.
- Sue gave thanks to the Board and the membership for the continued support!
- Introduced Vice President for Workshops, Dan Kall

### Vice President, Workshops: Dan Kall:

- We were still able to provide a few virtual workshops over the summer including the very successful Residency Workshop. Given the pandemic, residency was a hot topic to discuss this summer. Thank you to all that attended!
- Introduced Vice President for Membership Jayme Arnett.

# Vice President, Membership, Jayme Arnett:

- Dues were not collected this year because of the Pandemic.
- Jayme worked a lot with Bob Bulow (webmaster) to clean up MemberClicks so that it is more accurate to the membership.
- Pandemic Performer submissions are needed! We know there are many folks out there that have done a stellar job during the pandemic, please spotlight them.
- Introduced Vice President for Programs, Tina Hickman.

### Vice President, Programs, Tina Hickman:

- Despite the unusual year, Tina thoroughly enjoyed being a part of the board and looks forward to the next year.
- Tina thanked the chairs and vice chairs of each planning committee:
  - Admissions and International Education: Kathleen Gutheil (chair), Brook Roberts (vice chair)
  - Information Systems and Data Management: Nina Teeters (chair), David Shaffer (vice chair)
  - o Professional Development: Cherise Olmo (chair), Emily Guthrie (vice chair)
  - o Records and Registration: Lauren York (chair), Whitney Costner (vice chair).
- The program planning meeting was a success. We received 76 online submissions from 35 members. Even though we are not having a 2020 conference, we have identified a half dozen topics to be discussed in virtual round tables. These will be held mid-October through mid-November.
- Introduced Secretary, Heather Pritchard

#### Secretary, Heather Pritchard:

- One of the main initiatives was to create more of an online presence for OACRAO. We did this be paying for advertising of the OACRAO Facebook page. We also received heavy participation in "show us your at home office".
- We still need stories for Pandemic Performers.
- Thank you to Newsletter Editors Michelle Livingston and Christine Court.
- Thank you to webmaster, Bob Bulow.
- Reintroduced President, Chris Dorsten.

### President, Chris Dorsten:

- Thank you to all of the members on the Government Relations Committee, including Chair Christine Court.
- Virtually Presented plaques for outgoing board members:
  - Vice President for Workshops, Dan Kall
  - o Treasurer, Aftan Dewese
  - o Past President, Sue Shepherd.
- Reintroduced Past President, Sue Shepherd.

### Past-President, Sue Shepherd:

- Thank you to those who served on the Nomination and Elections committee.
- Presented the results of the election:
  - o Vice President for Workshops: Lauren Martin, University of Cincinnati.
  - o Treasurer: Gina Shakle, Central Ohio Technical College.
  - o President Elect: Michelle Rable, Bowling Green State University.
- Announced new appointed Nominations and Elections Committee.
  - o Past Presidents: Beth DaLonzo, Mount Vernon Nazarene University and Jack Minor, University of Cincinnati.
  - o At large members: Christine Court, Aultman College and Missy Weininger, Tiffin University.
- Presented the Linus J. Ryland award to Frank Yanchak and Beth DaLonzo.
- Reintroduced President Chris Dorsten.

### President, Chris Dorsten:

- Thanks the Board of Directors for their reports and work over the past year. Serving as President was an honor.
- Introduced President-Elect Molly McDermott-Fallon and virtually passed the gavel over as a formal introduction of President.

#### President-Elect, Molly McDermott-Fallon:

- Molly thanked everyone for their support and reiterated the fact that she and Chris have followed a very similar path in their OACRAO roles.
- Expressed deep gratitude to the members during this extremely difficult and uncertain time.
- While things are uncertain, we must rise above in the profession and deal with the tasks ahead.
- Thank you to everyone for their support, including the University of Cincinnati who has allowed Molly to serve OACRAO for many years.
- Formally called for a motion to adjourn the meeting:
  - o Heather Pritchard motioned to adjourn.
  - o Asked for a second: Aftan Dewese seconded.
  - Asked for a vote to adjourn:
    - The 94<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Ohio Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers is adjourned at 1:05PM.